Colorado Government 101

Gubernatorial Overview

Meet our Governor, John Hickenlooper, and our Lieutenant Governor, Donna Lynne.

Colorado State Legislature Q&A – Visit

Legislators are elected to represent all the residents of Colorado.  The opinions of individual citizens are very important to your legislators.  For instance, a group of elementary students contacted their Legislators and, through the students' research and promotion, legislation was adopted and the Colorado Hairstreak butterfly was designated as the official state insect.  Realizing that they can have some influence with the legislature, more citizens have gotten involved and have worked with Legislators on issues.

If you have an issue that you feel is important to the state, call or write your legislator.  It is possible that your idea or suggestions could become law in Colorado.

Legislators may be contacted in person, by telephone, or by mail in order to express an opinion on proposed legislation or to suggest future legislation. Obtain your legislator's name and address from your county by visiting the legislative website. Specific Senator and Representative names and contact information can be found here:

Legislature Overview

There are three branches of government:  Legislative, Executive, and Judicial.  The legislative branch is the lawmaking power of the state and consists of the Senate and the House of Representatives. The General Assembly, which is the Senate and House combined, meets annually, beginning in January and continuing for 120 days.  State legislators pass laws that affect Colorado.

Colorado House of Representatives

  • 65 state Representatives - elected for two-year terms - limited to four consecutive terms
  • Presiding officer, the Speaker of the House, is elected by the members
  • Chief administrative officer is the Chief Clerk of the House

Colorado Senate

  • 35 state Senators - elected for four-year terms - limited to two consecutive terms
  • Presiding officer, the President of the Senate, is elected by the members
  • Chief administrative officer is the Secretary of the Senate